Preaching on the Solar Eclipse (Or Not)

From noon until three in the afternoon darkness came over all the land. Matthew 27:45

I was getting my car washed last week when I thought I overheard a woman say she was Presbyterian. Of course, my ears perked up.

Me: Did you say you were Presbyterian?

Carwash Lady: No, I was asking about participation at school.

Me: Oh. Sorry. I’m a Presbyterian. (In my head: what is wrong with me?)

Me: I’m a pastor. (In my head: nobody cares that you are a pastor.)

CL: Are you preaching on the solar eclipse this week?

Me: Um. No I’m not.

CL: Well, why not? You know a solar eclipse happened during the crucifixion of Jesus. If my preacher doesn’t preach on the solar eclipse this Sunday, I’m going to get up and leave.

Me:

Then her car was ready and she didn’t stick around to finish the conversation, thank goodness.

Three things:

  1. It never occurred to me to preach on the eclipse.
  2. I don’t remember the Bible mentioning an eclipse during the crucifixion.
  3. If there was an eclipse during the crucifixion, it was a doozy: 3 hours long as opposed to (at its darkest point) 2 minutes and 38 seconds in Carbondale, IL where HH and I will be today.

I’m told that observing this eclipse will change my life. I really hope that’s true.

I’ve also been told that the crucifixion of Jesus has changed everybody’s life, whether we acknowledge it or not. God loved us enough to die for us. And I totally believe that’s true.

Happy Solar Eclipse Day.

One response to “Preaching on the Solar Eclipse (Or Not)

  1. Oh yeah, totally an eclipse at the crucifixion: Mark 15:33 and parallels. But no, not exactly a preaching topic.

Leave a Reply

