Simple Reminder: The E Word

The E Word has a shaky reputation.  People hear “evangelism” and picture somebody wearing a sandwich board like this.  Or they hear the word “evangelist” and picture a sweaty man shaking a Bible in somebody’s face. Nevertheless, I embrace this word as a goal and as my particular appellation.

Evangelists share Good News.  That’s part of my job as a leader in my Church.  But here’s an important question:  For what are we evangelists?

  • For our denomination?
  • For our congregations?
  • For our particular brand of privilege?
  • For our political party?
  • For our business?
  • For our school?
  • For our country?
  • For our family?
  • For our team?

Imagine – if you are a person of faith – sharing the Good News of your God’s message.  For me, this would be the message of Jesus:

The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,
   because he has anointed me
     to bring good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives
   and recovery of sight to the blind,
     to let the oppressed go free,
 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.  Luke 4:18-19

Sometimes we confuse the object of our devotion.  I know I do.  But on my best days, I remember my most basic purpose.  Imagine – if we actually lived to bring good news to the poor, release to the captive, recovery to the blind, freedom for the oppressed, and proclamation of Jubilee aka “the year of the Lord’s favor.”

The time is coming when this movement will rise again.

Image source.

Leave a Reply

