The Last Time I Begged God for Something . . .

it involved mothering.  In fact, the only times I’ve ever begged God for anything, it involved mothering:

  • Please don’t let my mother die.
  • Please let my mother die.
  • Please save my kids.

We remember moms this weekend.  But I am also remembering that the God I believe in loves me like a mother.  This changes everything for those of us who have mixed feelings about Mothers’ Day.

As a mother comforts her child, so I will comfort you.  Isaiah 66:13a

Many of us who are or have been or pray we will one day be mothers are reminded this weekend that sometimes we are beggars.

Image is Arrangement in Grey and Black No. 1 (Portrait of the Artist’s Mother) by James Whistler (1871).

Leave a Reply

