What Scares You? (The Answer Explains Why We Voted the Way We Voted)

scary-people-mosaic

It occurred to me the other day that I scare people.  I don’t mean to do it.

But sometimes I blurt out a statement that I consider commonplace and normal (“Her wife Penny and I went to college together“) and I don’t realize that it has confused and upset the hearers.  I was telling TBC the other day that I also realize that I am a cultural snob.  I make sacred assumptions that everyone has memorized the Hamilton soundtrack and knows who Ta Nehisi Coates is.

I spent Wednesday avoiding the news and trying to sit in the profundity of Tuesday’s election results.  But I did read this article which offered these two quotes from Americans living in the same Southern city:

Last night, I feel like we got a little piece of our country back

Over the past two years, things have changed. What is so scary is you don’t know who hates you.”

So, here’s my unscientific experiment.  Which of these images scares you and which of these images gives you hope?

  1. The neighbors.
  2. The leaders of the PCUSA.
  3. The neighbors.
  4. The leaders of our country.
  5. The neighbors.
  6. The future leaders of our country.
  7. The neighbors.

The answers to this question determine our world view and our politics and our interpretation of Scripture.  They also explain why some people are crushed and terrified this week and others are uplifted and relieved.

The images are of 1) men in a diner in Raleigh the day after the election, 2) The Co-Moderators of the 222nd General Assembly, the Stated Clerk, and the Interim Executive of the Mission Board of the Presbyterian Church USA, 3) Deah Shaddy Barakat, Yusor Mohammad Abu-Salha, and Razan Mohammad Abu-Salha who were killed in Chapel Hill, NC in 2015 , 4) President Barack Obama and his first cabinet, 5) young men discussing inner city unemployment at the Chicago Urban League 2016, 6) Newt Gingrich, President Elect Donald Trump, and Rudy Giuliani, 7) Jonah and Nicole (formerly Wyatt) Maines from Maine.

 

One response to “What Scares You? (The Answer Explains Why We Voted the Way We Voted)

  1. Number 6 is a very scary picture, indeed.

Leave a Reply

