The Way My Face Looks Now

Jan GlassesI look in the mirror sometimes and see my mother.  It freaks me out a little, because I haven’t seen her actual face in almost 28 years.

When I’m walking around, I imagine my face looking younger and thinner, and then I pass my reflection and think, “Oh right, I’m older now and my cheeks are a little puffier.

While in a church meeting recently, someone made a brilliant comment about The Way Our Face Looks Now – as a denomination.  He said it’s as if we are plastic surgeons trying to explain to our people that “this is how we look now.” The changes have already happened; we just need for people to accept them.

All of us in the church have been to meetings in which the faces are older and the hair is grayer.  I value those wrinkles and gray hair.  They represent much wisdom and experience.

But increasingly, I am also attending church meetings to find that many of the faces are both  younger and darker.   Many of those faces do not look like me but this is a good thing.  The way the face of the church looked yesterday is not the way our face looks today, which is not the way it will look in the future.

Sometimes we imagine that the face of the church was better back in former years.  Or we forget the way our faces look today.  But I have enormous hope in the way the face of the church will look in the future if we  – who increasingly have wrinkles and gray hair –  allow new faces to step up to positions of power and leadership.  Thanks be to God.

Leave a Reply

