I Can See You Roll Your Eyes

WPC

As you read this, I’m arriving in Philly for the White Privilege Conference.
(Thank you Synod of Lincoln Trails.)

I can see your eyes rolling, my friends.

Among the comments posted about the 2015 conference:

So there’s that.

Warren Buffett  – who is nobody’s wild-eyed liberal – has said this:  “My wealth has come from a combination of living in America, some lucky genes, and compound interest. Both my children and I won what I call the ovarian lottery. (For starters, the odds against my 1930 birth taking place in the U.S. were at least 30 to 1. My being male and white also removed huge obstacles that a majority of Americans then faced.)”  I would venture to say that a majority of Americans (i.e. females, people of color) still face those obstacles.

I also won the ovarian lottery. I enjoy a great deal of privilege based wholly on the fact that I happened to be born in the United States of America with parents who could provide everything from piano lessons to braces to a college education.  Plus my skin is white.

There are other privileges I enjoy based on the fact that I can walk, hear, see, and think fairly clearly.  But one of my greatest privileges – one that has certainly opened door or at least not closed them – is my skin color.

Yes, race is a social construct.  But I am judged on my skin color and so are you. That is a fact. And in my case, those judgments have almost always made my life easier.

I’m attending this conference in hopes that I will learn how to make somebody else’s life easier for the sake of the Gospel.  And I hope to share some of what I learn.  Please try not to roll your eyes.

 

 

2 responses to “I Can See You Roll Your Eyes

  1. Would love to share this on Facebook but am unable to locate a link. Good article!

Leave a Reply

