Putting Me in My Place

“Remember you are dust and to dust you will return.”  Genesis 3:19b

Ash WednesdayIn world where we humble-brag, where we are encouraged to climb the proverbial ladder, where we push our children to be on top, where we push our neighbors out of the way to get to the top ourselves . . . the voice of God reminds us that  – actually – we are broken, weak, ridiculous, and hurt, if we tell the truth about ourselves.

Ash Wednesday puts us in our place.  This is the day when we remember that – while wonderfully and fearfully made – we are also mortal creatures who will die one day.  And how we will live this one remarkable lifetime we have been given?

  • Seeking to know who we are and who God is.
  • Serving in proportion to our privilege.
  • Living to bring heaven to earth.

This is my favorite season.  What an opportunity.

2 responses to “Putting Me in My Place

  1. Amen! We need God…..

  2. I’m late to the punch, but I wanted to let you know I really enjoyed this post. I’ve done my best over the past few years to observe Lent, but still, the stars hadn’t aligned enough for me to actually attend a formal Ash Wednesday service until this year. Beautiful, but humbling, experience. Hopefully this season has been a blessing to you!

Leave a Reply

