“I Don’t Know What You’re Talking About”

I was in a church a while back with a history of serious conflict. I’m talking about150408-north-charleston-sc-rally-1038a_869f60d4f5ff96fd5b5ab72b5fbd4e15 member-on-member violence. (And we wonder why people find churches unappealing.)

In the course of addressing this conflict in the church meeting, one nice lady said, “I don’t know what you are talking about. I’ve never seen any conflict in this church.

My friends, this is part of our national problem: we “never see” the conflict.

The Washington Post reported yesterday thathalf of all Whites see no racism around them.” Have we driven through our own neighborhoods? Have we listened carefully to our own comments? Have we read the newspaper or watched the news on television? Have we noticed the huge disparity in how black and brown people are treated versus how white people are treated?

We don’t see it because we don’t want to see it. I have many sisters and brothers in Christ whose mantra (sorry for the mixed metaphor) is Philippians 4:8 to the point that they find it unattractive or unfaithful to mention that There Are Ugly Things In The World.

God would not have had to live among us had the world been without ugliness or pain or brokenness. What is our spiritual problem?

For one thing, our spiritual problem is that: We Do Not See The Racism Around Us. If we did, we would not wave Confederate flags. If we did, we would not call black and brown killers “terrorists” and white killers “mentally ill.”

Jesus said quite a bit about blindness and deafness.

2 responses to ““I Don’t Know What You’re Talking About”

  1. So true, Jan! I often find myself in denial as well, simply because I want the world around me to be better than it really is. But sadly, it isn’t.

  2. Pingback: This Week’s Links « Timothy Siburg

Leave a Reply

