Mothers’ Day Thursday: Sheryl Sandberg


I haven’t even read Lean In, but I can’t stop thinking about Sheryl Sandberg.  Her husband’s sudden death last weekend reminds us all that life can change in a blink.

From all accounts, he was a wonderful human being and I cannot imagine moving into Mothers Day weekend after just losing your best friend and spouse and your children’s other parent.  She recently wrote – of course – on Facebook:  “10 years of being a parent with him is perhaps more luck and more happiness than I could have ever imagined. I am grateful for every minute we had.

This is basically a post about being grateful.  Sometimes we don’t realize how enormously blessed we are until a loved one is gone.

The video is from Sheryl Sandberg’s address to The World Economic Forum in Davos in 2010.

4 responses to “Mothers’ Day Thursday: Sheryl Sandberg

  1. I have read Lean In, and learned some things about women as leaders from her. Indeed, this tragedy is a very public reminder of the fragility of life. One of my staff just lost his 18 year old nephew in a car accident yesterday morning. Another reminder of how quickly every thing can change. Grief from the loss of a spouse or child is lifelong, the lives of those who are living are changed forever. Gratitude in the midst of deep grieving is a gift.

  2. Jan,

    It doesn’t look like the video came through in the email version. When I clicked on “see in browser” it was there.

    Did you read how he died? I’m sure you did. Tough stuff. We have a friend (in his 60s) who was hit in the back of his head in a freak accident. He got medical help immediately (medivac) and hopefully will recover. Hard to tell.

    I know it wasn’t the point of your post but what happened to that family has also been on my mind s lot.

    Liz

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Pingback: » Mothers’ Day Thursday: Sheryl Sandberg

Leave a Reply

