How We Eat. How We Used to Eat.

beach foodThe H & B Edmistons have been spending a week at the beach together now for 24 years.  We started the year after Dad died since we had sold our family home and needed a place to gather where we could all eat at the same table. This was an intentional move to give the grandchildren and future grandchildren of H & B time together every year without the drama that comes with holidays.  It’s just seven days of regular life – but at the beach.

We are four siblings, our spouses, our 13 children and one nibling spouse.

What we pack has evolved as the kids have been born and grown up.  But the biggest difference is in the food we eat.  Don’t get me wrong:  dessert preparation still amounts to a nightly professional bake-off.  But we are healthier as we’ve learned that kale and blueberries are super foods, and Ranch dressing is not.

Overheard on Day One this year:  “These chips are gluten free.”

These words were neither uttered nor considered in previous years, and it’s not just because we – the oldest generation –  are in our 50s and have gluten issues.  We are trying to eat healthier.

Even our desserts are healthier (frozen bananas) although my sister just baked a cake with Coca Cola as one of the ingredients.

Full disclosure:  we allow “beach cereal” (Cinnamon Toast Crunch) and Pop-Tarts for breakfast for the kids, just this one week.  But most of us eat a lean protein and berries.  Gone are the Oreos – that much is certain.

So, here’s my theological point (because there has to be one):  If the Edmiston family can shift our eating habits over the course of a mere 24 years, imagine how Middle Eastern culture has changed over the past 3000 plus years.

How can we possibly read the Bible without using source criticism, form criticism, textual criticism, historical criticism, rhetorical criticism, canonical criticism, redaction criticism  . . . ?

6 responses to “How We Eat. How We Used to Eat.

  1. wait, Ranch is not a super food and you no longer have Oreos? that sounds sad. 😉

    says the girl who made “S’moreos” over the fourth of july….

  2. I also didn’t mention that we finish off the ice cream on Saturday morning before we leave. Because it would be a sin to toss it.

  3. NO OREOS????!!!! I think that might be a sin! I’m glad Henry’s not here to see that!

  4. Against all genetic odds, I have never liked Oreos, Ruth, so it wasn’t that big of a sacrifice for me. But you’re right about Henry.

  5. This makes me happy on many levels – from the familial ties aspect to the theological point. Although for me, maybe, they overlap.

    I can live without Oreos. Chocolate in some form, however – frozen or otherwise – not so much.

  6. What a wonderful tradition your family has kept for so long!! I wish my father’s side of the family had something like that, I have several relatives on that side that I have not seen for years and we have no place to gather now that our grandparents are gone. On a side note, when I spent part of a summer in Europe, I discovered that they had no Oreos there. None. I don’t think I have ever craved Oreos as much as I did that summer.

Leave a Reply

