The Baby Graduates

image
About 23 years ago, I was the mother of two boys under the age of three, and during their nap time, I was cleaning out a closet. Specifically, I was boxing up their infant wear.

An overwhelming feeling came over me that somebody was missing. And a year later, we were the parents of three kids under age four.

It had not occurred to us that this meant we would have three kids in college at the same time – at least for one year, just as there was a year when all three were all in high school at the same time. Whew.

A couple random thoughts on this momentous weekend when TBC graduates from college:

  • We are unspeakably blessed. I did nothing to deserve the ability to get pregnant easily (when I wanted to) or give birth to healthy children who lived to adulthood.
  • I won the genetic lottery, not to mention the privilege lottery, the citizenship lottery, and the romance lottery. Again, I did nothing to deserve this. We’re talking about lavish grace/good fortune.
  • I’m a big fan of having kids close together, if that’s possible/you plan more than one child. If they are close in age, they all like the same books and the same games at the same time- easy. Yes, you have multiple car seats and lots of diapers. But you’re just as busy with three as with one.
  • Just because they are about the same size, it doesn’t mean they will like the same things. We allowed each of our three to pick one sport and one arts activity at a time, and so – yes, this meant that there was a potential for six different activities per week, but they got to choose. I’m glad we did it that way.
  • As Double PKs (Preachers’ Kids) they needed each other when exposed to every manner of human turpitude. My kids can handle things beyond their years.

The bottom line is that I’ve learned so and I’m immensely grateful. Happy Graduation to our last & TBC.

Image of Gildersleeve Hall – named for PK Basil Gildersleeve – where TBC lived that first year of college.

One response to “The Baby Graduates

  1. Hello to all, how is all, I think every one is getting
    more from this web page, and your views are fastidious for new
    visitors.

Leave a Reply

