Lent: Forgive Me for Repelling People

imageI like coffee shops.

I like prayer.

I like Bible studies.

I like prayer and Bible studies in coffee shops.

But yesterday – on Ash Wednesday in the year of our LORD 2014 – in rural-ish Illinois, I happened to park myself in a Starbucks with my computer and a skinny mocha, sitting in the one seat not taken by a large group of Christians who seemed to be gathering for prayer and Bible study.

They were loud.  Like Sports-Bar-on-a-Monday-night-before-the-Playoffs loud.   It was about 11 am and they were talking (loudly) and laughing and then praying (loudly) and then they left.  And all I could think about was how much I did not ever want to be a part of that group.

God, have mercy on me and my own friends for the times that we were That Group.  I’ve been part of groups called Theology on Tap (until my RC brothers threatened to sue me), Faith on Tap, and God Talk on Tap.  And now I wonder how often we made onlookers never want to be a part of our gathering.

And so, please forgive me and my friends.  My hope in getting together with believers and doubters and born-again atheists is that we would be authentically welcoming of all.  But I wonder how often I have repelled people from a God who entered our world in human skin and loved/welcomed/blessed everyone.

Lord have mercy. Christ have mercy. Lord have mercy.

One response to “Lent: Forgive Me for Repelling People

  1. I like your blog. I would like to invite you to participate in an upcoming virtual book tour for a study book that is due to be released in June, “Hiding Behind the Worship Show” by Tim Reeve. This would be an ARC for a mid-May tour. I feel the book would be a good fit with your blog page and have enjoyed expiring your site.

    Here is the excerpt for the back cover to familiarize you with the subject matter:
    “Do you go to “worship services” every Sunday? Does the Bible even tell us that we are supposed to assemble to worship? If we are going to claim to follow Scripture, we probably need to rediscover these truths. Yes, God wants our worship. Yes, God wants us to assemble. He never puts them together, though. In fact, the reason His writers give for the assembly is quite different, and much more practical! Discover what the Bible has to say in this riveting and challenging, inspirational Bible-based study.”

    We are a small, growing eBook publishing company providing eBooks that inspire or encourage. You may find Writeious Books at http://christianebooks.writeious.com. We invite you to be a part of our tour.

    Thank you so much for your time. Whatever you do, may the Lord bless the fine work of your hands…

    Sincerely,
    Lynn Aguilar-Editor and Publicist
    Writeious Books

Leave a Reply

