We Keep Each Other Warm

GrammysApart from the ongoing comments about undeserving white rappers and Madonna’s cowgirl hat, apart from the Latifah-as-wedding-officiant talk, I’ve been thinking about something different re: Same Love by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis at the Grammy Awards. As I’ve read this and this and this, I’m struck by something different: the stage set. Clearly, it looked a little churchy.

I don’t think the church set was intended to mock followers of Jesus. Rather, I believe it was intended to create a holier atmosphere as 33 gay and straight couples got married. Getting married at the Grammys might seem a little cheesy to most of us, but let’s face it, weddings are often cheesy. (Ask your local pastor.) I once officiated at a wedding during which the bride came down the aisle to “I Love a Rainy Night” by Eddie Rabbit.

But here’s my point: people long for meaning. Pastors are called to be Meaning Makers (thank you NS) in their faith tradition and to equip people to be disciples. Jesus brings meaning to my life and I want others to have this. I want people to know that there is One who loves us unconditionally to the point of death. And if others do not believe this, there are many reasons why, but I don’t want it to be because I have been a terrible example of what a Christ-follower looks like.

The church is called to keep each other warm. We don’t have all the answers and we mess it up a lot. But this is who God has called us to be.

 

 

 

 

One response to “We Keep Each Other Warm

  1. Jan, have you read this one?
    http://thoughts-musings.com/
    It was fun to read both of your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

