Men, Women, & Homemaking – Holiday Edition

1950s-xmas-Paulette-GoddardOver the weekend, I came across this article about ordering home life.  Does this ring true, anybody?

“We all know families that are held together because a woman knows who likes what in their sandwiches, who can or cannot read on a road trip, who needs cuddles after a hard day at school.”

Yep.

So, here’s my question:  who does what in your home for the holidays?  When I was a child, my Dad delighted in the practical joke side of Christmas (e.g. changing the tags on the gifts) but Mom did all the cooking, cleaning, shopping, wrapping, and decorating.  And I suspect that it’s still true in many households that one person takes on more responsibilities than the others under the same roof.  Is that because – in my case – the woman wants/needs things to be a certain way?  Stockings hanging from the mantel.  Greens hanging from the doorpost.  Candles in the windows.

Is it still true in your household that one person takes the lead on All Things Christmas?

Would you say that Stephen Marche’s article true for you and your household in 2013?  (Do we simply need to let things be a little dirtier and stress out about holiday decorating a little less?)

2 responses to “Men, Women, & Homemaking – Holiday Edition

  1. This is a constant dialogue in our house and I see a lot of couples (who identify themselves “of faith” and are admittedly much more conservative than my personal situation) struggle to figure this out in the context of how scripture sets up a “man” and a “wife’s” responsibilities. Oh bless them. Anyway, in our house we’re still working on learning how we each offer the family emotional support in our different ways. The only thing we have really come to is making sure we don’t host or decorate or do any task that we’re only completing because we feel pressured to do so. Even this is still more practice than perfect at this stage.

    Thanks for opening up this conversation.

  2. I’ve said this — in times of stress: “If there were no women, there would be no holidays”. Yes — I did all the cooking, cleaning, decorating, shopping, wrapping, etc. etc. etc. Now that my husband has retired, however, he joins in and the variety of Christmas “responsibilities” is a lot more shared. It’s all good, but I do notice that I also held a bit of control in all I did. Now that he’s a part of the activities, I’m finding that I have to bite my lip when he doesn’t do something as I would.

Leave a Reply

