Dates

Ba de ya – say do you remember
Ba de ya – dancing in September
Ba de ya – never was a cloudy day

EarthWindAndFireSeptember7InchSingleCoverMy Mom died of metastatic breast cancer 25 years ago today.  Interestingly enough, two other friends also lost their moms on September 16th. Two other friends became moms on this day.

Tomorrow – September 17 – is the 27th anniversary of my last first date.

I am not a sentimental person about many things.  But dates matter to me.  I eat dessert for dinner every August 28th.

When expecting children, I remember looking at calendars with potential due dates in mind, and realizing that one of those dates would soon be extraordinary for the rest of my life.

It’s overwhelming and impossible to remember everyone’s special dates, but one of the best gifts we can offer people is to remember “their dates.”  Pastoral care tip:  keep a calendar with important death dates and connect with survivors.  You don’t even have to mention their loss.  Just a low key “I’m thinking about you today” will suffice.  Believe me, you won’t be reminding them afresh of  a memory they’d forgotten.  They’ll know why you called.

Grateful today that I have the capacity to remember.

One response to “Dates

  1. My paternal grandmother would have celebrated her 89th birthday this past Friday, the 13th. I don’t necessarily try, but seem to remember dates as if they are ingrained into my brain. I’m not sentimental about many things either, and dates matter to me too. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

