What I’m Thankful for: Presbytery Edition

I’ve been on the job as the Interim Associate Executive Presbyter (i.e. Denominational Middle Judicatory Staffer) for exactly 1 year, 2 months, and 24 days.  Maybe this job sounds deadly boring to you, but I kind of love it.   And  this Thanksgiving Week, I’m especially grateful for:

  • Churches that defy all odds and do something completely fresh.
  • Church members who get that we are called to wear aprons, not bibs.
  • Pastors who protect their days off and the members who support them.
  • My closest colleagues who make me feel like I can do this.
  • The doorbell at the Presbytery office that plays random tunes we apparently cannot control (e.g. Happy Birthday to You, Take Me Out to the Ball Game, Jingle Bells.)  It makes me laugh in the middle of the day when a visitor rings the bell and we randomly hear “My Country Tis of Thee” or “Row, Row, Row Your Boat.“)

I’m also grateful for the losses we endure – church closings, pastors moving on, letting staff go – because those are maybe the only ways we will shift and change. New seasons are good, even if they look absolutely terrifying.

Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Image is about what can grow even out of ashes.

One response to “What I’m Thankful for: Presbytery Edition

  1. Most awesome door bell ever!!! Where can I get one?

Leave a Reply

