If I Hang Out at Your Church, Will I Actually Meet People Who Are Like Jesus?

Some People Following Jesus by Gary BuntMy favorite tweet of the day yesterday via Erin Dunigan:

“If I hang out at your church will I actually meet people who are like Jesus?  Or will I just hear about him? @MLabberton #GA211″

Mark Labberton nailed it.

Among the comments I’ve actually heard in the past month in Church World:

  • The congregation thinks I don’t spend enough time doing my job now because I have a baby.
  • We don’t want a pastor who won’t wear a robe.
  • Someone told my daughter her skirt was too short for worship.
  • Her sermon was not very sophisticated.
  • All our pastor does is read his email all day.
  • We don’t have enough money to keep the church going past October.
  • Only 4 kids are registered for Vacation Bible School.
  • That woman is evil.

Imagine walking into a church building and seeing people who remind you of Jesus.  What would that look like?

Image source.

2 responses to “If I Hang Out at Your Church, Will I Actually Meet People Who Are Like Jesus?

  1. Great question!!!
    RevJule
    Breadonourjourney.com

  2. Full of mercy and tenderness and courage….still looking for such a place….

Leave a Reply

