Days When Life Changes Forever

Every time I was pregnant, I would look at the upcoming calendar and remember that there was a day coming – then unknown to me – that would become special for the rest of my life.

September 11 is one of those days for many people.

It’s corny and dramatic to say that 9-11-01 changed us all forever.  To me, being “changed forever” implies that every single day is different because of what happened on a particular day in the past. These are the days we didn’t see coming except as routine dates on the calendar.  But then something unexpected happened to shift your world into A New Normal.

If you lost a parent, spouse, best friend, sibling, or child on 9-11, your life changed forever.  If you suffered a chronic malady – either physical or mental – on 9-11 then every day is now different.

Some of my Life-Changed-Forever Days are:

  • July 8, 1956
  • April 8, 1984
  • September 17, 1986
  • September 16, 1988
  • May 1, 2010

What about you?

I remember 9-11-01 very well.   It changed my life in that my heart still feels knotted up when I hear the old news accounts of that day.  But my trauma is nothing compared to others.

Today, let’s remember the survivors, the still-grieving, the Iraq and Afghanistan war veterans and their families, the families of Saddam Hussein and Osama bin Laden, and all for whom this day is very personal.  Praying for peace with all of you today.  And may we treasure our special days – even the very hard ones.

2 responses to “Days When Life Changes Forever

  1. Very behind on my reading. Thank you for this post and for the remembrance for the families of Saddam Hussein and Osama bin Laden.

    I remember the first time I prayed for blessings for Osama bin Laden (years before he was killed) and how uncomfortable it felt. But I knew that I was called to pray for him. It changed me.

    Blessings to you and thank you for your writing. I lurk, but so appreciate.

  2. Although not as devout a Christian as I once was, I was taken aback by how thoughtful the sentiment of praying for the families of the two criminals against humanity. The truly special aspect of Christians is expressing sincerity and compassion to the most surprisingly neglected people, and it really humbled me to realize that I didn’t think of them at all. You’ve renewed my faith in Christians and their message of love and understanding, and though I cannot call myself a completely adherent believer, I do know I will hold much less bias against someone who dons the Christian label.

Leave a Reply

